Sharing via Dropbox

When to use

Use this method to point each Viewer to the same address book file located in your Dropbox folder (or on any other shared resource). Dropbox will automatically sync the file whenever it changes.

To avoid possible conflicts, use this method if you are the only person who works with the software. For a multi-user environment it is recommended to use the full-fledged address book sync instead.

Important!

Throughout this page we assume that you have two PCs with Viewer installed ("Viewer 1" and "Viewer 2") and your Dropbox account is available on each Viewer PC.

Setting up "Viewer 1"

  1. In Viewer 1 go to Tools tab and click Address Book Manager. Setting up Viewer 1
  2. In the Address Book Manager window click Add. Setting up Viewer 1
  3. Select Create new address book and click OK. Setting up Viewer 1
  4. Select your Dropbox folder and click Save. Setting up Viewer 1
  5. Click on the Name column to rename your address book to something more descriptive. Click Close. Setting up Viewer 1
  6. The new address book will appear in the Viewer 1. Now you can populate it with records. Setting up Viewer 1

Important!

If you already have records in your General Address Book, you can move them to the newly-created address book by using drag'n'drop.

Setting up "Viewer 2"

  1. In Viewer 2 go to Tools tab and click Address Book Manager. Setting up Viewer 2
  2. In the Address Book Manager window click Add. Setting up Viewer 2
  3. Select Open existing address book and click OK: Setting up Viewer 2
  4. Navigate to your Dropbox folder, select the address book file and click Open. Setting up Viewer 2
  5. Click on the Name column to rename your address book to something more descriptive. Click Close. Setting up Viewer 2
  6. The new address book will appear in the Viewer 2. Setting up Viewer 2

Now the address book in Viewer 1 and address book in Viewer 2 both point to the same file stored in your Dropbox folder. You can add, update or delete records on either side. The changes in one Viewer will be reflected in the other Viewer as soon as Dropbox updates the address book file.

Important!

You can add Viewer 3, Viewer 4 etc. the same way you did with Viewer 2. The Dropbox folder with the address book file must be available on all Viewer PCs.