Logon and logoff

Being logged on to a remote PC allows you to keep connection with that PC active while not using any of the connection modes, or interfering with the work of the remote user.

When in the logged on state, the connection thumbnail shows a remote screen preview. You can also invoke an advanced hint window if you hover your mouse pointer over the thumbnail.

Important!

Despite the same term used, Remote Utilities logon has nothing to do with Windows logon. You can be logged on to a remote PC regardless of whether there is any Windows user actually logged on to the system or not.

To log on to a remote PC:

  1. Select a connection or multiple connections in the address book. On the Connection tab click Logon: Selected connection in the Viewer window
  2. Enter the access password for the remote Host and click OK: Enter password
  3. Provided that the remote PC is accessible, the connection icon will briefly display an hourglass icon meaning that a logon attempt is in progress. The connection icon will then change to the Logged On status (learn about statuses): Connection thumbnail with the Logged on status
  4. In a short while the connection thumbnail will start displaying a preview of the remote screen: Connection thumbnail with a preview of remote screen

    Tip

    To disable previews on the thumbnails, uncheck the Update thumbnails checkbox on the View tab in Viewer options.

To log off, select a connection in the address book and click Logoff on the toolbar.

Automatic logon

You can set the Viewer to automatically log on to remote PCs.

  1. Right-click the connection icon and select Properties from the menu: Properties item in the right-click menu
  2. Select the Security section and enable Auto-logon: Auto-logon option selected in the Security tab

Important!

As of now, the Auto-logon option only works with direct connections as well as with Internet-ID connections established through the self-hosted server. The Auto-logon option will not work for Internet-ID connections that use our public Internet-ID server.

Re-logon command

The Relogon connections command makes all the connections in your address book to re-log on. This command will only apply to connections that meet ALL the of the following criteria:

  • The Auto-logon option enabled (see above);
  • Access password saved.

To initiate a re-logon in the Viewer, navigate to the Connection tab and click Relogon connections:

Re-logon connections command on the Connection tab