Address book manager

Overview

The server Address Book Manager is a dialog where you can create address books, users and groups and set access permissions.

To run Address Book Manager open Admin Console, click File menu and select Address book manager...:

Open address book manager

The Address Book Window has the following parts:

Main window - Address book manager
  • 1 Menu bar — Contains all available commands. The menus are contextual and show different contents depending on which section is currently selected in the navigation pane.
  • 2 Toolbar — Displays the most important commands. Just like the menu bar, the toolbar is contextual and changes when different sections are selected in the navigation pane.
  • 3 Navigation pane — Displays address books, users and groups.
  • 4 Contents pane — Shows the contents of a section currently selected in the navigation pane.

Address books

This section is where you create and keep your address books that you sync through the server.

Address books section

You can set sync permissions for an entire address book and/or for its specific folders and connections. Permissions are granted to users and groups that you create in the Users and Groups section respectively (see below).

To set permissions for an item such as an address book, folder or connection:

  1. Right-click on the item and select Edit.. Right click menu - Edit
  2. Click Security.. Editing folder dialog
  3. Click Add.. Folder permissions dialog
  4. Select the user or group whom you want to grant access permissions to this item and click Select: Selecting a user or a group
  5. Set desired permissions and click OK. Close the Security window: Setting permissions
  6. Click the green checkmark on the toolbar to apply the changes: Applying changes

For more information on how to set up address book sync, please refer to the Setting up sync server page.

Users

This section is where you create and manage users whom you'll be granting access to address books, folders and connections when using the sync server role, as well as granting access to Hosts when using the authorization server role.

Users section

To edit a user:

  1. Use the right click menu or the toolbar to create users first.
  2. Right-click on the user and select Edit user.. Right click menu - Edit user
  3. To change user password click Change password... If you want to disable the user without deleting it altogether, uncheck the Active check box. Editing user properties
  4. Set a new password and click OK. Edit the data in the other tabs if necessary and close the Edit dialog: Setting new password
  5. Click the green checkmark on the toolbar to apply the changes: Applying changes

Groups

Groups provide a convenient way to manage users with different roles and/or users spread across different departments. You can grant access permissions to a group the same way you can grant permissions to a user (see the Address Books section above).

Groups section

To add a user to a group:

  1. Use the right click menu or the toolbar to create the necessary groups.
  2. Right-click on the group and select Edit group.. Right click menu - Edit group
  3. On the General tab you can edit the group name and make the group inactive (disabled) if necessary: Editing group properties - General tab
  4. Select the Members tab and click Add...: Editing group properties - Members tab
  5. Select users to add to the group and click Select: Selecting users to a group
  6. Make sure the selected users are in the Members list and click OK: User added to the group
  7. Click the green checkmark on the toolbar to apply the changes: Applying changes