Forums

Decommisioning Old PC's - Forgot to unregister RU client

john kumpf, User (Posts: 38)

Aug 27, 2015 11:24:48 pm EDT

Conrad, your "unregister the Host" link from last year to
http://www.remoteutilities.com/product/features/unregister.php
now gets redirected to
https://www.remoteutilities.com/support/documentation/main1/item143/
which is titled "License types" which is close, but not quite.
I think things have changed in v6? or v6.1? or v6.3? somewhere along there.
How do you "unregister" a host now? Delete from address book?

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1150)

Aug 28, 2015 5:31:06 am EDT

Hello John,

Since starting version 6 the registration process is entirely on the Viewer side, unregistering Hosts is no longer relevant. So you can simply delete the Host from your address book.

Thanks.

Gary Leon, User (Posts: 2)

Sep 21, 2015 2:41:53 pm EDT

I have the same problem. While testing RU I had two computers besieged by viruses that required formatting before I could unregister them. Am I just doomed here? I would really like to recover the unused ones (because technically one computer is now using two of them after the formatting).

Also, if I could click a button to just deregister everything and reregisters everything that would be great. I cannot even figure out how to deregister a current host with the latest updates :(.

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1150)

Sep 21, 2015 4:41:26 pm EDT

Hello Gary,

Am I just doomed here?
No. Just delete the associated records from your Viewer address book.

Also, if I could click a button to just deregister everything and reregisters everything that would be great. I cannot even figure out how to deregister a current host with the latest updates :(.
You no longer have to deregister anything because the Host is a "free floating" module starting version 6. Even if you have old 5.6 Hosts that you want to upgrade to version 6, just do that (upgrade that is) and you are done. Your registration information is not kept anywhere except the Host PC itself. So when the old installation is gone, you are good to go with the new one.

Hope that helps.

Gary Leon, User (Posts: 2)

Sep 21, 2015 5:48:32 pm EDT

I'm sorry, I might be confused. So right now, I have 2 used licenses which I cannot account for nor determine on a viewer... I'm worried that the old hosts were never removed before formatting a drive. If those old hosts never had a chance to upgrade to version 6, and is impossible to do so (as the drive got reformatted) is the license lost? :cry:

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1150)

Sep 21, 2015 6:50:22 pm EDT

Hi Gary,

Your license is not lost :) The registration key for Remote Utilities is just a static key that you apply in the program. In version 6 you apply it on the Viewer side so that the Viewer can count the number of records in your address book against what your license key allows.

Even if you have a commercial license for version 5.6 and wish to continue using that version, it's not a problem. Simply re-use your license key to register the Hosts after you re-install them. If you don't have host5.6.msi installer we'll provide you with a to download it.

If you want to upgrade to version 6.x, you must upgrade your license key as well. Please note that free upgrade is only available in case you purchased your 5.x license key after December 15, 2013. This is because we offer 1 year of free major upgrades to all customers, and version 6.0 was released December 16, 2014.

Page:

* Website time zone: America/New_York (UTC -5)