Forums

Protecting host from closing

Jamie Ward, User (Posts: 13)

Jan 24, 2014 9:04:01 pm EST

This is fantastic software, so I'm sure I'm just overlooking the setting. I'm looking for a setting on the host that would password protect the host from being shut down by the user.

Thank you.

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1082)

Jan 24, 2014 9:30:24 pm EST

Thank you for the kind words!

Perhaps you are looking for this one http://www.remoteutilities.com/product/features/settings-protection.php

To access the dialog, right click on the Host icon, select Settings for Host -> Settings protection.

Jamie Ward, User (Posts: 13)

Jan 24, 2014 9:54:35 pm EST

Well I guess if that setting will prevent a user from right clicking the host icon and shutting it down, then yes.

I would want a password confirmation after a user clicked close host before the host would actually be closed.

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1082)

Jan 24, 2014 10:00:33 pm EST

Jamie Ward wrote:
Well I guess if that setting will prevent a user from right clicking the host icon and shutting it down, then yes.

I would want a password confirmation after a user clicked close host before the host would actually be closed.
Jamie,

To prevent the user from shutting down the Host, use the "Hide Stop Host menu item" option in Settings for host -> Options -> General tab.



That is, first enable this option and then protect the Host with settings. This way the remote user will neither be able to stop the Host, nor change its settings.

Hope that helps.

* Website time zone: America/New_York (UTC -4)