Remote Utilities 7.0 has been released. Click to upgrade your license! (X) Dismiss

Peter Newell's community posts

Allow Remote Access only when Window user is not signed in?

Peter Newell, User (Posts: 4)

Jul 22, 2019 7:24:28 pm EDT

Support level: Free or trial
Does not work to stop User2 from seeing User1's screen if User1 is signed in locally.

- Set Windows Security as only authorization method.
- Added only User2 permissions on host.

The remote computer can connect using User2 Windows credentials even if User1 is locally signed in. Thus, User2 can see what User1 is doing and has access to all User1's files.

(Also, If no local user is signed in locally, remote computer can connect using User2 Windows credentials, but that doesn't stop User2 from signing in to Windows with User1's credentials if User2 knows User1's password).

Allow Remote Access only when Window user is not signed in?

Peter Newell, User (Posts: 4)

Jul 22, 2019 1:11:17 pm EDT

Support level: Free or trial
Remote PC has two Windows user accounts. User1 uses the computer during the day. User2 needs access when User1 is not on. User2 doesn't want to physically come in after hours to use the computer.

This would almost work by just having User1 log off and leave the computer on. However User1 does not want User2 to have any access to her account.  By default, User2 could remote in and see everything when User1 was logged on.

Is there a way in remote Utilities to block remote access by User2 when User1 is signed in to Windows?

Possibly this just mean shutting down the host service when User1 is signed in and restarting it when User1 logs out. Not sure how to do that.

Suggestions?

Host & Viewer 6.10.10.0 on Windows 10

Where is the Linux viewer?

Peter Newell, User (Posts: 4)

Aug 20, 2018 9:55:40 am EDT

Support level: Free or trial

Conrad wrote:
We are planning to release Viewer for Linux together with Viewer for Mac.

I'd love it if you would make a Host / Agent version for Linux!

delete and add endpoints to stay within limit?

Peter Newell, User (Posts: 4)

Aug 20, 2018 12:51:18 am EDT

Support level: Free or trial
Once I reach the maximum number of endpoints allowed by my license, can I delete some and add others to stay within the limit or am I stuck with the first x I use? For example, I connect to someone for a one-time remote support session.  Can I delete that endpoint and connect to the next, and so on?
This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using this website you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.