Forums

Forgetting to unregister hosts

YAG, User (Posts: 1)

Jan 27, 2014 1:26:45 pm EST

I have a question that I haven't run up against yet, but wanted to be prepared for. I frequently need to rebuild the computers I have or have family do a full system restore (generally easier than cleaning off the malware). I know that we won't always remember to unregister the host before wiping them out and rebuilding them.

This means the computer will get a new license when we go to register it again (and realize at that point we didn't unregister it first). It also means that we'll eventually end up with more than 10 registered systems (of which some are ghosts).

Am I correct in assuming that the enforcement is in the viewer and that I never have to worry about those ghosts other than just deleting them from my viewer?

Thanks for a *much* better LMI alternative!

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1083)

Jan 27, 2014 4:13:09 pm EST

Am I correct in assuming that the enforcement is in the viewer and that I never have to worry about those ghosts other than just deleting them from my viewer?
Thanks for your question. Absolutely.

* Website time zone: America/New_York (UTC -4)