Forums

[resolved] Remote Camera Warning Message

John R, User (Posts: 2)

Jan 17, 2012 11:47:01 am EST

Hello,

When I set up Remote Camera on my PC, and then log into the remote camera on my laptop, I notice when I hit the "Play" button to get the video to stream to the remote camera viewer, that a warning message is displayed on the screen of the PC that says:

Attention! Video Surveilance is Activated!

Is there anyway to turn this off?
If someone comes into the room and sees my PC screen, I don't want them seeing this warning.

This will affect my decision to actually purchase this product or not.

Thanks,

John

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1150)

Jan 17, 2012 1:37:15 pm EST

Hello John,

We were asked to remove that warning many times before, but we have to regretfully decline such requests.

There is a reason for that - our view of privacy. We respect the privacy of other people, and the web camera is something that can potentially breach into someone's private life. That's much more serious than just hiding the RUT-Server tray icon. Moreover, in some countries developing/selling such tools can be outright illegal, however ridiculous that might sound.

Please, do understand our point. We always follow our users' requests and implement many of those, but this is something we have to reject.

Thanks!

John R, User (Posts: 2)

Jan 17, 2012 2:47:45 pm EST

Too bad... Looks like I will not be buying your software.

I want a remote camera surveilance product on my PC, so that I can see if someone gets into my room when I am not there - without them being able to know that... (unless they notice the light on the webcam is on)

Oh, Well...
Looks like I will have to shop elsewhere.

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1150)

Jan 17, 2012 5:35:16 pm EST

The bad thing about turning off the warning is that the product could have been easily planted on an unsuspecting victim's PC and then used for espionage.

Of course, I see that you don't have such thing in mind and would rather use the program for security purposes. Unfortunately, it's impossible to technically separate these two uses. Just like it's impossible to predict whether it is a good guy or a bad guy who pulls the trigger. To be sure, you must file down the trigger at all :)

quachj34, User (Posts: 1)

Apr 18, 2012 1:15:20 pm EDT

I agree with John. If a User decides to purchase your software, the User should be allowed to use any of the features at their discretion. Admin you mentioned that by doing so may lead to "Bad things." I feel that by doing so may also lead to positive things as well. I am a father of two, and since I work long hours I had to put my kids under the caretaker of a nanny. I have been searching for a program with surveillance features that was easy to use. I have had a bad experience with my 2 year old with a nanny when I discovered that my child was afraid for reasons I do not want to discuss here.

I feel that instead of making the decisions for the Customer let them decide how they choose to use your software. I would like to suggest a terms and condition check if the User decides to turn off that feature so that Remote Utilities is not responsible. I guess I need to search elsewhere for a program that fits my needs. Thank you for your time.

Conrad Sallian, Administrator (Posts: 1150)

Apr 19, 2012 1:46:09 am EDT

The Customer is free indeed to use the existing features of our software as they want. But again - Remote Utilities is a remote administration tool, not surveillance software. Our position regarding the warning banner in the remote camera mode is firm and won't change. Sorry.

nikkil, User (Posts: 50)

Feb 17, 2013 7:38:42 am EST

Thanks for pointing this out. Laws all over the globe could be tricky sometimes.

You're never a loser until you quit trying.

* Website time zone: America/New_York (UTC -5)